Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Billy Napier (Az State)
Not named Alabama offensive coordinator, Billy Napier moving on at Arizona State
Still young at age 36, Napier's entire coaching career is still ahead of him

[/url]

TEMPE, Ariz. -- When Billy Napier pauses to think about it, he’s got nearly his entire career ahead of him.
Behind him is an uneven experience as the nation’s youngest coordinator. Somewhere in a safe place are two national championship rings won at Alabama. Some of the receivers he coached there are scattered around the [url=http://www.cbssports.com/nfl]NFL.  
As a coach, Billy Napier has lived a lifetime. He’s also only 36.
“Truth be known, I was a young coach with limited exposure,” he said while reflecting on his early career.
Arizona State’s new offensive coordinator isn’t going to let the rapid upward arc of his career define him. That’s because at age 29, yes, it was cool to be Clemson’s offensive coordinator as the Dabo Swinney era began in 2009.
But two years later, Napier was fired. The offense to which he was handed the keys stalled. It’s taken him seven years to get back to that point, in a place and conference foreign to a native of Cookeville, Tennessee, who played quarterback at Furman and spent every year of his career but one in the Deep South.
“When you are kind of a fast riser and you continue to slowly get hired at a young age, gaining more responsibility, then the rug gets pulled right out from underneath, it is a humbling experience,” Napier said.
All of it is important in the national picture. Napier was one of three Alabama assistants to leave this offseason. Tight ends coach Mario Cristobal became Oregon’s co-offensive coordinator. Lane Kiffin left to coach Florida Atlantic.